Tags

, , , , ,

My senior year is already half-way over?! What happened to the time and where was I when it was passing?

This semester was a struggle for me, but I made it through and actually ended up on top. If anyone knows me, they know I complained ALL semester about this one climatology class [yes, that is the study of the climate: clouds, air pressure, hurricanes, hydrologic cycles, ocean currents etc] I had to take as my last gen-ed class. I have never struggled in a class like I did in this one, I just do not have a math and science brain, not to mention I am awful at multiple choice exams. After literally skating by all semester with an 78%, I knew the final exam was going to be do or die. If I failed or did awful on the final exam I was not going to have a pretty grade or even pass the class. So I studied like I have never studied before and went into the exam with a great attitude. By the grace of God I ended up getting a B+ on the exam and doing great in the class. I emailed my professor to thank him for his patience and willingness to help me and I also told him how much I actually learned in the class. He responded with:

I think your attitude changed over time too, from “Let’s get this class out of the way” to “This could actually be interesting”…

He was completely right, as soon as I put my attitude in check I started doing better. This was probably because I started enjoying the class. The class was actually really interesting and applicable in everyone’s life. Who doesn’t experience the weather on a day to day basis? I think it is pretty interesting to understand why the weather is the way it is. This class taught me more than characteristics of weather though, it taught me how to deal with situations I am not fond of, it taught me how to study, it taught me how to re-route my train of thought, and it taught me to be humble. I am not going to be good at everything, and I think that is the most important lesson I got from this class.

 

Goals for my last semester of college [in that order]:

  • Enjoy college
  • Spend more time with my friends
  • Relax
  • Work hard
  • Stay up late
  • Get a big girl job